The Good, The Bad and The Not So Funny.

April 1st… also known as April Fools’ Day! This brings great joy to those who adore playing pranks on people. I am NOT a prankster. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I love a good laugh. Funny is funny. However, everyone has a different definition of funny. And I started wondering at what point is a line crossed from funny to mean.

Court Jester in black and whiteBut first I tried to find the origins of why and where the idea of pranking people on April 1st started. There was no answer except that it has been popular since medieval times. I’m thinking a court jester holiday? There was the Feast of Fools mentioned and lots of dates thrown around. However, it all seems to be speculation. Described in one write up as an “informal holiday”.

I did a Bing search of “Famous April Fools’ Pranks” and found pages of sites giving their take on the day and what it entails. Museum of Hoaxes lists the “top 100 April Fool’s Day Hoaxes of All Time As judged by notoriety, creativity, and number of people duped”. Kidzworld says it’s one of the best holidays because you get to play nasty pranks on people. (This type of wording on a kid’s site concerns me.)

My April 1st included the effects of two types of “jokes”…

The first happened while getting my hair trimmed. The barber across the room was checking a text message letting out an audible gasp grabbing our attention and immediate concern. Her son had sent her a picture of a mangled finger and hand. Not a fan of bloody pictures I turned my head, but not before getting a glimpse. Even that was enough to get the stomach turning.

Mother instincts kicked in… for all of us! Questions needed answering. Where are you? What happened?

The reply? APRIL FOOLS’… found this picture on Google search Not one of the four mothers in the room thought this was funny. I thought it was out-right mean to put someone through emotional trauma like that.

The flip side of this showed up in my inbox from a friend… Thanks Brian, cause this is the kind of prank I can get behind.

Click this link to find out about…

Growing Northwest Marshmallows

growing northwest marshmallows

Maybe because I secretly wish it were true…

I’m heading out to store soon to buy marshmallow seeds just in case.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad and The Not So Funny.

  1. Oh my gosh! I cried LOL at that story! My family loves April 1st, always innocent pranks that are in good fun . . . had some fun with the kiddos at school as well 🙂

    • Oh Jamie… I can only imagine how much fun you all must have. A little tease is one thing.. making a mothers heart ache with fear is a whole other situation. Guess discretion is the key.

I'd love to hear from you...

