I Am Reminded…

When I’m in the mood I can be an excellent whiner. Usually a lack of sleep is involved and sometimes a few aches and pains have joined the mix. Not that this is an excuse. It’s just that cranky is cranky and at times I do it well. I had one of these poor me episodes not too long ago.

Hurricane Sandy tree damageThe weather has turned a bit fall like. Windy days with rain made going outside a bit miserable. Then I was reminded of Hurricane Sandy. Breezy is not the same as gale force winds. Our trees are still upright and our houses are firmly on their foundations. My rain made puddles, it didn’t flood our streets or homes.  I am blessed.

Fall is here and temperatures have cooled. I complained about having to turn up the heat. Then I was reminded… Not only do I have a source of heat, but I have electricity and a solid home surrounding me. I am blessed.

Hurricane Sandy gas linesAnd then it was time to go grocery shopping. But before I can go I need to gas the car. Let the poor me whining begin…. Then I was reminded, I can drive right up to a gas pump where plenty of fuel is available. And the grocery store shelves are overflowing with choices. I am blessed.

As I watched the force of Hurricane Sandy uproot people’s lives my mind kept returning to the story of Jesus calming the storm as told in Mark 4:35-40. “He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.”

Hurricane Sandy personal storms

After the physical storm of Sandy there will be multitudes of personal storms. Not as trivial as mine however. I pray that Jesus calms the wind and waves of the stormy days ahead and the needs of these people are met… so that they also feel blessed.

I know that He has calmed my wind and waves and my whining… for now anyway.

~~~~~~~~~~

Just a Note: One of my favorite places to donate at times like this is Samaritan’s PurseDonations can be made online or by sending a check to Samaritan’s Purse – P.O. Box 3000 – Boone, N.C. 28607 or by phone at 1-800-528-1980

6 thoughts on “I Am Reminded…

  1. We are blessed. We are so blessed. Every day, every where, every one can start the day with “Thank you God”. Though the victims of Sandy lost all their possessions they have their lives and each other. And those who lost even their lives on this earth, have the blessing of going home to God and finding rest and renewal and reunion with those who have gone before. We are blessed. We are so blessed.

  2. A key concept in being happier, according to the Tal Ben-Shahar creator of Harvard University’s most popular and life-changing course, is ‘benefit finding’. You have it!

  3. I have been reminded by this Sandy Storm… the Jersey shore where I vacationed with my parents and my children is decimated. The lake community I grew up in has so much damage from fallen trees it still has no electricity. I am safe, and blessed. Well done, Nelly!

I'd love to hear from you...

