Today was National Relaxation Day…

In doing some research (yeah, that’s what I’ll call it, research.) this evening I discovered today, August 15th is National Relaxation Day. Really now… who decided it was okay to let this gem drop off the calendar and into the unknown? What really ticks me off is that now I know about it and I only have a couple of hours left in the day. I feel deprived of my right to celebrate and am now feeling the growing tension of forced relaxation. ARGH….

Anyway… there are two more very important days just around the corner which I think we should all put on our calendars lest we forget.

woman red dress tapping foot arms crossed

National Senior Citizens Day is either August 19 or August 21 this year. Your choice. President Reagan made Proclamation 5847 on August 19, 1988. Probably some old person misunderstood and wrote it down wrong. 19 and 21 do sound very similar… (if you are underwater.)

For all they have
achieved throughout life and for all they continue to accomplish, we owe older
citizens our thanks and a heartfelt salute. We can best demonstrate our
gratitude and esteem by making sure that our communities are good places in
which to mature and grow older — places in which older people can participate
to the fullest and can find the encouragement, acceptance, assistance, and
services they need to continue to lead lives of independence and
dignity.

Just a moment while I bask in the thought that I may have achieved something… I didn’t do well in the dignity department either and I’m pretty sure the salutes President Reagan was talking about are different from the type I get… especially while driving.

But wait… Don’t put your pen away just yet. There is one more notation to make.

August 24th is National Waffle Day… now we’re talkin’. Waffles are the perfect base for any meal. Top with syrup or fruit for breakfast, slather with peanut butter and jelly for lunch or serve with fried chicken and gravy for dinner and don’t forget… Chocolate Waffle Cookies for dessert. I was going to share my recipe for the cookies here… but it seems my filing system is broken. (Yeah, I can’t find it anywhere. I even looked in the soup section of my file box.)

Munsey Belgian Waffle Maker circa 1975I may not have the cookie recipe but I have my original Belgian waffle maker my parents gave all us siblings one Christmas. (1975 maybe?) This beaut has one setting… you plug it in and it gets HOT!!! Years of memories are wrapped in this little device… mostly of people’s stomaches growling… cause it only makes one waffle at a time.

Oh My Stars… look at the time,

I’ve got to hurry if I’m going to get any relaxing done.

relax sunset hammock

Happy Relaxation Day!

10 thoughts on “Today was National Relaxation Day…

  1. Yikes! I missed National Relaxation Day? How did that happen!? Now I’ve gotta wait a whole ‘nother year to relax. Rats. 😀 Well, I marked the calendar for August 19th (or 21st, or both) and I’ll celebrate National Senior Citizen Day by relaxing. Makes sense to me.

  2. Ellen…this is definitely your niche. Reading your blog is like having coffee on the front porch with you. I miss that.
    xoxo, me. Now it’s time to relax. I figure since I knew nothing about this wonderful day, I’m taking a rain check on it for today. I was going to change the sheets, wash the floor, clean the crumbs from under the toaster and make a gourmet dinner for the little Greek. But…not today. I’m relaxing.

    • Awwww Pammy….. Your front porch under the canopy of trees on a summer day… the most beautiful image/memory EVER. If you lived any closer I’d be on it daily.

      Just a little heads up…last time I cleaned the toaster it went into shock and refused to do it’s job. Just sayin’. But DO take care of the Greek. 😉

  3. darn! i saw the post come through last night but was too BUSY to read it and now i realize i missed a GOLDEN opportunity. maybe you should have sent out an APB along with the blog post.
    funny, lovely, twisted in all the right ways – just like YOU!
    so glad you are up and running, doing the writing that has been calling to you through the mist for a long long LONG long time. xo

  4. Pam & Lori are right, Sis. This is the writing your were born to do–and when I read it, it’s like sitting at your kitchen table and drinking coffee……you in your flip-flops, me in my wool hat, gloves, and sweatshirt!! (LOL) Love you, Bean. You’re the best. ♥♥♥♥

  5. Like the other ladies, reading your blog is definately like a visit, with coffee, smiles and hugs. Thanks for being you girlfriend!

    • How fortunate am I to have sipped coffee on porches in Michigan, around pools in Florida and at my own kitchen table… each time with the bestest of friends. YES… blessed I am indeedy. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you...

