You never know what you’ll find down there…

I’ve just returned from an archeological dig. I become active in these events every so often. Usually in the summer months when it is hot outside and the coolness of the basement calls to me.

I have spent three-fourth of my life in this house. Not sure what this says about me… Either I’m stable with deep roots or too lazy to take on adventure. What I do know for sure is clutter loves to hide in basements… mine in particular.

My surprise treasure from this venture was a small (6 x 4.5 inch) book… “Life’s Little Instruction Book” … 511 suggestions, observations, and reminders on how to live a happy and rewarding life, by H. Jackson Brown Jr.. I don’t know if I have this because it was given to me or I was going to enlighten someone else with its wisdom.

Life's Little Instruction Book cover

I have just read through all 511 insights and found some to be somewhat dated. However… there are some I know I could and should latch onto, so I thought I’d share a few…

30 ~Never buy a house without a fireplace. (This sounds wise. My house has two. We use neither.)

31 ~Buy whatever kids are selling on card tables in their front yards. (Personally I’d be weary if said table was full of puppies and kittens.)

156 ~Strive for excellence, not perfection. (Looks like I need to up my game.)

167 ~Don’t scrimp in order to leave money to your children. (Done!)

212 ~Don’t allow the phone to interrupt important moments. It’s there for your convenience, not the caller’s. (Love this one… you take your life in your own hands if you call here during dinner. Nothing keeps me from my food.)

273 ~Remember that overnight success usually takes about fifteen years. (I should be working at my fifth round of success. Maybe the key word there is ‘working’ not ‘fifteen’.)

306 ~Take a nap on Sunday afternoons. (This should be expanded to ALL afternoons.)

326 ~Remember that winners do what losers don’t want to do. (Be gracious keeps coming to mind.)

367 ~Acquire things the old-fashioned way: Save for them and pay cash. (I told you some of these were dated… what’s cash?)

396 ~Never give anyone a fruitcake. (Unless you are re-gifting.)

438 ~Every person that you meet knows something you don’t; learn from them. (I just learned not to give fruitcake.)

464 ~Don’t miss the magic of the moment by focusing on what’s to come. (Hey, we’re almost to the end of this book. Hope the rest are good.)

505 ~Be a leader: Remember the lead sled dog is the only one with a decent view. (Okaaaay… I think this one speaks for itself.)

511 ~Call your mother. (Wish I could.)

woman red dress tapping foot arms crossedThere we go… wisdom from a little plaid book which has been lost for who knows how long in the basement. Now that we’ve taken the time to be enlightened… Go call your mother. It will make her smile.

Okay kids… I’m waiting.

9 thoughts on “You never know what you’ll find down there…

  1. Well, I have one to add. Always buy Girl Scout Cookies whenever asked . . . you can never have too many since you can freeze them and they’re great for company b/c who doesn’t love them?? Also, I did give my ex-brother-in-law a fruitcake for Christmas one year, but it was a gag present and gave him a nicer one afterwards.Cost of fruitcake? $4.99 . . . cost of gift bag $1.00 . . . the expression on his face? Priceless:-)

    • Jamie… GSC’s are a given. Wondering how you get any of them all the way to the freezer though. (If GS cookies start coming with a kitten or puppy however, I’m going to have to take a pass. o.0)

I'd love to hear from you...

