Darnell Peterson… You heard it here first.

That’s right… I’m claiming discovery of a brilliant new photographer from right here in my neighborhood. Okay… maybe a couple of neighborhoods away after you cross a river into another state, but you get the picture, right? (Clever pun included to see if you are paying attention.)

I do scrapbooking, therefore I know a lot about taking pictures. Mostly I know a lot about disguising poorly taken pictures. Example above: The group by the ocean is my family… most of them. Much sky and dune grass has been cropped out. From a half mile away I yelled for all to look up and smile, however they were quite uncooperative that day.

Back to Darnell. He started posting some pictures on Facebook and they caught my attention…  Following are a few of my favorites.

Darnell Peterson photographer between two buildings.

This shot grabbed me. I saw a metaphor for life right before my eyes. Psalm 23:4 came instantly to mind. “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.” Keep focusing on the light…

Darnell Peterson Photographer leaf with rain drops

   Peacefully beautiful…

Darnell Peterson Photographer sunny day beautiful girl

To be brutally honest here, this picture could be out of focus and off-center but I’d still love it because this is my grand-daughter.

Darnell Peterson Photographer Portland Oregon sunset bridge Willamette River

Love Darnell’s capture of nature’s movement… clouds, bird and river all heading toward sunset.

And here is the fella himself… Darnell Peterson

Darnell Peterson Photographer picture of self

This kid has some college to finish for now but when he gets his camera out, amazing things can happen. Just remember… you saw him here first.

5 thoughts on “Darnell Peterson… You heard it here first.

  1. What a superb photographer! The sense of light in your granddaughter’s picture adds to her light mood – nothing short of brilliant; light echoing the droplets on the leaf; the shadow pic has the glow of light coming from above rather than a central focal point which adds a religious feel. Sunsets are hard to have a fresh take – this fellow has insight and talent. Thanks Ellen – loved these.

  2. Joining Sarah in her appreciation of Darnell’s pictures. They are both striking and beautiful. I really hope he will keep ‘art-ing’. And thank you for taking the time to share his work with us.

I'd love to hear from you...

