Flag Day… we need a breeze.

American Flag, Stars and Stripes, Old GloryIf you happen to see an excessive amount of flags flying high today, and I hope you do, there’s a good reason…

It’s June 14th… Flag Day.

Although it was celebrated for many years prior, it wasn’t until 1949 that Congress designated this day as National Flag Day. making it the formal observance of the anniversary of the official adoption of the Stars and Stripes as our national flag. So let’s celebrate… it’s our flag’s birthday…

Today would also have been my Gram’s birthday. Being a great American (of Scottish decent) she’d joke about everyone celebrating her special day by flying their flags. I remember her once saying flags need a breeze to unfurl their beauty. I will always remember her as an eternal pursuer of happiness.

I love my country’s flag. I love my Gram… We need a breeze.

2 thoughts on “Flag Day… we need a breeze.

I'd love to hear from you...

