The Benefit of Girlfriend Time…

Last night was girl’s night. Every girl need girlfriends… especially ME. I have always been surrounded by boys. Growing up there was Dad, three brothers, boy cousins, closest neighbors… you guessed it…boys, I married a man and had two more boys. My survival skills have been honed. I can hold my own. But that is not what this is about. This is about what I cannot live without… girl time!

three older women talking

this is NOT us.

Once a month Carrie, Janie and I (names have been changed to protect me.) get together for a night of catching up, laughs and a few eats and a little shopping. We are very predictable. We go to Wendy’s before heading to Joann’s Fabrics and Crafts across the parking lot. Obviously friendship is the key here and not the activity.

Janie just returned from an anniversary trip. Carrie has a new grandson only days old. Both have birthdays this month. They had lots of news to talk about. The focus turned to me… What have I been doing you ask? Well the blog is going well.

They both looked at me as if I had suddenly started speaking in Norwegian. Their blank stares spoke volumes. I didn’t let the quizzical looks stop me. I continued, I got a lot of response on the blogging for coffee post and the one on jigsaw puzzles. Have you read either of them? Carrie shook her head no while Janie uttered how she’d lost the address to get to the site and could I please send it to her again. I’ve made it through the forest of men in my life, I’ll make it through this. I continued on…

Yes, I’ve written about coffee and jigsaw puzzles. Things that are important in my life. Pay attention here folks, this is me. We all got a good laugh. Carrie doesn’t get why I’d do such a thing. Janie doesn’t care why I’d do such a thing. So all my bragging was lost on them. They keep me humble… kind of.

I love our nourishing and uplifting girlfriend time. I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

Who am I writing for? …certainly not Carrie or Janie. I’m writing for the love of writing, the love of story telling, but mostly for myself.

Note: I’m betting that neither Carrie nor Janie ever see this.                            If they do, jokes on me.

7 thoughts on “The Benefit of Girlfriend Time…

  1. Zot! Zot! That’s the sound of your blog hitting nerves over here.

    My book group has been meeting for more than 18 years. In the beginning, we were all coworkers who had a shared love of reading. Now we’re 4 retirees (one reentered into the workforce) and me, still working. We meet monthly to eat, talk, gossip, and … oh yes, we eventually get to discussing the book. Over the years we’ve been through parental deaths, child marriages and divorces, cancers, accidents. We are girlfriends who support each other.

    When I started blogging, I sent the link to everyone I knew. I got some comments on the blog and some “you go girl” emails. But the book club seems …. I don’t know, unimpressed? I stopped sending them the link after their response was reduced one of them emailing “Cute, Nan.”

    SoI guess they’re not my audience. That’s what I’m coming to realize. And then I wonder, who am I writing for? Me, I guess.

    • Aw Nan… The love of reading the written word seems not to translate into writing the words. We have a special passion others don’t understand. How fortunate we writers have found each other.

      Girlfriend time is still important… :0)

  2. Awwww, dear Sis….I have a confession to make: after reading today’s blog I realized that I have been doing sort of a weird spin on what you describe.

    Because I’ve been illin’ for so long–I have been letting your daily blogs substitute for actually TALKING to you (& coughing up lung in your ear)…..I open my email every day and know that I have to chances for you to, one, make me smile and often laugh out loud–and two, to make me reflect on blessings.

    In other words, it’s been a very one-sided thing and I apologize. NOT for reading everything you write here (sometimes more than once) but for letting it be my Sis-Fix. I don’t blog, so the remedy will have to be phone calls!

    When I count MY blessings, I count you twice.

  3. This is so very true.
    Some people just aren’t into the blog thing, and that’s okay. Questioning why we do this, and finding that the answer is to please ourselves and those who are like us is a big step in understanding what drives the need to write.
    Great post here, girlfriend–of the virtual variety. 😉

  4. My sister started blogging a couple of years ago and got me started in February. We write for ourselves but do read each other’s blog entries. It’s been a lot of fun and we’ve had a few long phone sessions while blogging, going over every aspect of setting up the page, etc. It’s been great to have such a fun thing in common.

I'd love to hear from you...

