Argh. I wish I’d been there…

In a recent post, Bucket List Update, my last item involved the Erma Bombeck Writers’ Workshop. I mentioned that it was a KEEPER! No way is this EVER being cut from the list. Actually, even after I go (notice I said that with all the confidence that I WILL GO) it won’t be crossed off because I plan to attend again…and again…and again.

Don’t know if anyone remembers this, but I also posted on a book I loved… The Bobblehead Dad by Jim Higley. Well, I fired up my Facebook page this morning and there it was before my eyes … a HUGE missed opportunity. I wasn’t there. Certain circumstances kept me away… finances, scheduling, finding the right pair of shoes to wear. The basics.

Back to The Bobblehead. Jim Higley was there! …as a presenter. I was an emotional mess as I read his blog post On Being Erma’s Child about his workshop experience. He loves Erma as much as I do. Honestly, I cried all the way through reading this. Some of the tears were for appreciation of the love and community this workshop has created… the rest of the tears were pure pity party.

woman shoe shopping

I’m over it now. I’ve left the self-pity behind. I have two years to clear my schedule, save some pennies and find the perfect pair of shoes.

Who’s with me? It’s going to be FUN! 

8 thoughts on “Argh. I wish I’d been there…

  1. I’m rooting for you – count on me for friendly support. Two more years and then you’ll cross this off your bucket list (and then again, and again…)

  2. Yay Jamie!!!
    We have a motto in this family…
    Its not how you play the game, its how good you LOOK playing the game.
    The kids are talking sports but I think it applies to writing too.

I'd love to hear from you...

