I have a desire to crochet…

…because craftiness runs in my family.

I know the basics. I’ll need a crochet hook and yarn. What I don’t have is the ability to crochet something I will enjoy when done. Although these are not my color choices, this is what I am capable of…

single and double crochet

I have friends who are excellent at crocheting. Piece of cake they tell me before spewing the overused and not necessarily true battle cry…  “If I can do it, anyone can.”

Who came up with that faux phrase of encouragement? I can touch my tongue to my nose. You can try to accomplish this task all you want, but if you don’t have the right ‘tongue’ gene, it isn’t going to happen. But it will be entertaining to watch you try.

I’m not sure I have the crochet gene. I could have gotten it from my Mother. She crocheted. She did meticulous stitches to create miniature works of art in the form of doilies. Not wanting to make doilies I opted out of the Mom lessons. Also my Mom wasn’t a fast hooker. [What is the catch phrase of crocheter’s anyway?]

We still have all the pieces of the baby sweater she was making for my first son. Mom has moved to heaven, my son is in his 40’s and there is still a sleeve to be made. When exactly do you give up on a project?

I almost talked myself out of trying. Do I really need anymore unfinished projects screaming at me? I didn’t think so until Lion Heart Yarn inspired me with this…

Guess I’ll have to get a dog now also. In the mean time the grandkids will make a good substitue. [*insert evil Gma laugh here]

2 thoughts on “I have a desire to crochet…

  1. (I have a feeling that the dog in this picture is thinking: Really? REALLY? Just kill me now. Please.Someone. Just do it now.)

    I remember my Gran teaching me to crochet when I was around 8 years old. She was very talented, even able to do that almost forgotten cross-over between crocheting and lace-making called tatting. She taught me several elegant, intricate stitches. Lo, all these many years since then (ahemmmm) I can only remember one: the basic chain stitch. Can’t do much with a ten-foot long chain-stitched piece of yarn.

    Loved the memories this piece released.

    • Mer…

      Sometimes the memories are all we seem to retain…
      I think of the patience it must take to teach these skills.
      (My guess is your skill would come back with a little practice.)

      As for that 10 foot basic chain?
      It might just make one stylin’ dog-leash…

      love that you stop in for a read… ellen

I'd love to hear from you...

